Australian Senate

Who is a Senator?

A senator is a member of the Australian Senate, elected to represent a state or territory. There are 76 senators, 12 from each state and two each from the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory

What does the President of the Senate do?

The President of the Senate is the presiding officer of the Senate, whose chief function is to guide and regulate the proceedings in the Senate. The President is also responsible for the administration of the Department of the Senate. The President is a senator who is elected to the position by the members of the Senate.  The current President is Senator Stephen Parry from Tasmania with offices in Launceston and Hobart.

Follow this link for information about the Senate sitting dates;

Following this link for information about Tasmanian Senators and their contact details in Tasmania and Canberra;

This is a unique website which will require a more modern browser to work!

Please upgrade today!